Reparative Urbanism: Informality, infrastructural repurposing, 
and collective life in the wake of the pandemic

SERIES SCHEDULE

WORKSHOP 1: What does it mean to repair a city? 

Feb 17 2022 8-10am EST / 1-3pm GMT / 3-5pm SAST / 6:30pm-8:30pm IST

 

Gautam Bhan (Indian Institute for Human Settlements)

Shannon Mattern (The New School )

Suraya Scheba (University of Cape Town)

Mariana Cavalcanti (State University of Rio de Janeiro)

Facilitator: Nate Millington (University of Manchester)

Registration link 
 

WORKSHOP 2: Infrastructural repurposing, infrastructural politics, and the work of repair 

March 17 2022 10am-12pm EST / 2-4pm GMT / 4-6pm SAST / 7:30pm-9:30pm IST

Julia Corwin (London School of Economics)
Alejandro De-Coss Corzo (University of Bath)
Prince Guma (British Institute in Eastern Africa)

Melanie Samson (University of Johannesburg)

Facilitator: Thomas Gillespie (University of Manchester)

Registration link 

WORKSHOP 3: Urban peripheries and practices of occupation 

April 6 2022  10am-12pm EST / 3-5pm GMT / 4-6pm SAST / 7:30pm-9:30pm 

 

Stella Paterniani (Federal University of Paraná)

Zachary Levenson (University of North Carolina Greensboro)

Matthew Richmond (London School of Economics)

Andre Ortega (Syracuse University)

Alexander Vasudevan (Oxford University)


Facilitator: Suraya Scheba (University of Cape Town) 

 

Registration link 
 

WORKSHOP 4: Mutual aid, care, and crisis 

 

Apr 27 2022 8-10am EST / 1-3pm GMT / 2-4pm SAST / 5:30pm-7:30pm IST

Laura Kemmer (​​Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

Caitlin Henry (University of Manchester)

Tanja Bastia (University of Manchester)

Cristina Temenos (University of Manchester)

Angela D Storey (University of Louisville)

Facilitator: Kevin Ward (University of Manchester)

 

Registration link 

WORKSHOP 5: Repair, climate change, and urban transformation

May 17 2022 9-11am EST / 2-4pm GMT / 3-5pm SAST / 6:30pm-8:30pm


Sarah Knuth (Durham University)
Malini Ranganathan (American University) 
Sage Ponder (Florida State University)
John Stehlin (University of North Carolina Greensboro)
Patrick Bresnihan (Maynooth University)

Facilitator: Jonathan Silver (University of Sheffield)

Registration link

ABOUT THE SEMINAR SERIES

What does it mean to approach cities through the lens of repair? Repair refers to incremental and everyday forms through which cities and landscapes are held together through processes of fixing, mending, and maintaining. Repair highlights the incessant, ongoing, and often invisiblilized work of those who maintain, modify, and repurpose the critical systems that underpin collective life. Practices of repair are ongoing, even if invisible; they suggest the critical ways in which planetary breakdown is being responded to and possible pathways for an ethics and a politics going forward. Repair takes uncertainty and breakdown as starting points, and develops forms of action that are predicated not on that which could exist, but rather - that which already exists.

In this workshop and seminar series, we explore repair as a paradigmatic shift in how cities and urban economies are understood, a shift away from a prioritization of innovation and entrepreneurialism towards practices of mending and holding together that also mark urban life. This seminar series will bring together scholars and academics interested in how ideas of repair can reshape existing ways of understanding the city and urban politics. We will explore diverse forms of repair practices in cities, and draw attention to the political implications of different forms of repair.

Event sponsored by the Hallsworth Endowment, the University of Manchester, and the Manchester Urban Institute's Urban Infrastructures research group. Organized by Nate Millington with support from Cristina Temenos, Tanja Bastia, Thomas Gillespie, and Leandro Minuchin. For more information please contact Nate Millington.

manchester logo.jpeg